The Miracles of Leaves, Birthdays, and Einstein

The leaves are turning colors right now and falling off the trees inRaleigh,North Carolina. My daughter, who just turned 3 years old on Monday, thinks this event is specifically for her.  It started in late summer, after her brother celebrated his birthday, when she would ask longingly “Is my birthday next week?”  In order to help her conceptualize when her birthday is, I would respond, “The leaves have to turn colors and then it will be time for your birthday.”  Over the weeks, she transposed this in her mind to become that the leaves are changing specifically for her birthday, for her.  I too have decided this makes sense. “Of course they are sweetie,” I would say with a smile.  And truly, I mean this, why not?

I have been pondering for awhile now a quote that I read on a lovely blogsite that I am following.  I would highly recommend visiting Life Literati found at http://lifeliterati.wordpress.com/category/gratitude/ where the author gives some great quotes and reminders of gratitude for both the big and little wonderful things that happen every day.

One quote I read on this site was from Albert Einstein: “There are two ways to live: you can live as if nothing is a miracle; you can live as if everything is a miracle.”  The fact that leaves change in a particular fashion every year is neat.  You can explain it by science – the cue is the decrease in daylength and moisture levels; chlorophyll stops being made and the other pigments that have been masked by the chlorophyll can now shine through as so we see red instead of green.  The fact that leaves change in this way year after year can also be thought as a miracle.  It is wonderful to see the hidden come out, it is a reminder that things change, things are temporary, but that things return.  There is a predictable nature in the change.  And, the change is forecasted around my daughter’s birthday.  It is a miracle that this miracle event happens around my miracle daughter (but that is another story perhaps for another post). 

And what a powerful message to be reminded of on a daily basis!  There are signs around us reminding us of the miracles of life, the predictable nature of change and return to order in due time.  Even when life is horrible, when my husband’s health is so poor and when it was difficult for him to help celebrate our daughter’s birthday, I focus on that fact: things are temporary and I can help restore order in my own way.  Instead of focusing on the cold weather and dark times (with long nights) that lie ahead after the leaves fall, I focus on the wonderful miracle of those leaves changing colors and the fact that they are singing a birthday song to my daughter.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Mary Busch on November 11, 2011 at 2:36 pm

    What a wonderful way to start my day! Your words and the message they evoke are truly inspirational. I am in awe of your talent . . . your wisdom . . . and your strength. Always have been and always will be.

    Love you kiddo! “me”

    Reply

  2. “It is wonderful to see the hidden come out, it is a reminder that things change, things are temporary, but that things return.”

    Beautiful…. happy bday to your daughter and thank you for recommending life literati!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Jim on November 17, 2011 at 1:58 am

    The way you structured that puts me in mind of how we are like leaves. We seem to fluorish in health and wellness in warm and nourishing times. Then when the weather turns cold and times become trying, another amazing beauty is revealed. I have seen that in you and Jim.

    Love from Singapore.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

