Advice From My Very Astute 5-Year Old Son

Assembly

Image via Wikipedia

For about a month now my five-year old son has been singing and dancing (with some pretty impressive moves, I might add) a song of his own making.  I have no idea the motivation for the song and why he sings it so often and so enthusiastically.  But he does and it is fabulous.  When he first started singing this song, he asked me to write it down for him – I couldn’t write fast enough.  Everytime he sings the song, the words are slightly different, but the message is always the same – believe in yourself.

 

I thought since today is the first day of the new year, it was most appropriate to share the original song with everyone.  I couldn’t say it better myself.  Here is to the belief that 2012 is the year.  The year for miracles, health, and the knowledge that belief can make things happen.

 

If you just believe in yourself
You can do anything for me or you.

It’s okay if you win or lose.
It’s okay if you matter fact or lose.
It’s okay if you don’t win or lose.
You just need to believe in yourself.
Just believe in yourself
For me and you.

Just believe in yourself.
So don’t fail.

It’s okay if you don’t do everything you want to.
Just believe in yourself.

It’s a matter of fact to lose.
Just don’t worry about anything.
Just believe in yourself.

It’s okay if you don’t break a record.
Just believe in yourself.

Just believe in yourself.
Just believe in yourself to me and you. (repeat this last line many, many, many times).

Leave a Reply

