The Visionary Bike

My 5-year decided it was time he learned to ride his bike without the training wheels.  All of the neighbor buddies were cruising by him and he wanted in on the fun.  “Let’s do this,” I replied one afternoon.  He geared up, sat on his bike while I held it in place and then I asked him to steady himself next  to the car on his own.  This way he could get a sense of how the bike might balance and how his body would need to move to adjust accordingly.  This didn’t last now, he was so eager to be pedaling that bike.  So, off to the sidewalk we went.  I found a flat location and then I asked him if he was ready.  He smiled wide, shook his head up and down “Yes!” was the reply.  But I paused.  “Okay,” I said, “I want you to close your eyes now.  Don’t worry I won’t let go.”  My son compiled, so full of trust.  “Now,” I continued, “I want you to visualize yourself pedaling this bike down the sidewalk.  Can you see it?”  He shook his head side to side, realizing that maybe he wasn’t as confident as he originally thought.   “Okay, let’s try again.  Keep your eyes closed sweetie.  Do you see it yet?  You are pedaling the bike, you are stable and so happy moving down the sidewalk.  Do you see it?”  Again, the same side to side shake.  No, it still wasn’t there.  We tried again and then finally my son exclaimed “I see it Mom.  I see it!  I’m ready.”  With that, I pushed him.  With that, he rode pumping the pedals up and down quite masterfully down the sidewalk.  He was as thrilled as I was.        

Then the bush came.  We hadn’t visualized that one.  It was large and blocking part of the sidewalk.  My son didn’t quite know how to maneuver around it.  That bush stopped him cold.  Still, all things considered, he gracefully came to a stop by putting one leg on the ground.  He walked his bike back to me, to the original starting location.  We did our visualization trick again, but this time we pictured him riding past that bush.  Once he was sure he had that image, I pushed him, and off he went.  No problem at all this time.

My son basically learned to ride his bike very well that afternoon.  He couldn’t get on the bike himself, but he could ride it.  The next day he mastered the skill of getting on the bike without assistance and now he is riding with the best of them in our neighborhood. 

What should be taken from this?  With self-confidence and belief in yourself along with visualization of your goal, much can be accomplished.  Much can be accomplished without much bang-ups and much can be accomplished quickly.  Another wonderful reminder from one of my children – there are always wonderful things that happen in life (even during troubled times) and these fantastic episodes can be created as often as we choose.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Mary Busch on May 31, 2012 at 3:51 pm

    Wonderful Erica! Nice B’day present, eh?? Braxton had definitely benefited from all of your wisdom. He seems wise beyond his years. You’ve obviously done a wonderful job as a “mama”.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

