Get Over It Already

I know everyone has them.  Bad days can sometimes turn into bad weeks.  I know it happens to everyone.  Still doesn’t make me feel better.  Well, maybe a little.  But not much.

I am just tired.  So very tired.

My bad week has started with one of our long-time nurses, one we depend on very much, just not showing up one morning.  He was “over” (as he put it) the nursing company, and quit.  But we suffered.  Scrambling around to find coverage.  Me serving as the nurse.  Again.  Not that I mind of course.  I love taking care of my husband.  But it’s a lot when you throw in the other stuff.  Like picking up a sick child and trying to tend to his needs.  Trying to pick up milk, butter, and medicine for your husband and literally not being able to leave the house you are in the role of nurse.  Then there are the constant phone calls.  “Who is going to pick up this shift?”  “What are we going to do about X?”  “Let me try to get through to the insurance company.”  There are always the calls, never a break.  And then the bills – new ones this week for a new round of IV antibiotics that are not covered by insurance.  More supplements, more over-the-counter medicine.  Hundreds of hundreds of dollars later, I wonder how I’m going to pay for the electric bill.

Then, on top of all that, just when I think the tide is turning, something else happens.  My husband had a doctor’s appointment this morning.  The nurse helped get Jim ready and down the stairs.  I had phoned a handicapped van service to pick us up.  I dropped off my daughter at a neighbor’s house (my sick son is still with me today), and I’m thinking all is going well and things are taken care of.  Jim was going to get something done at the doctor’s office that should help him.  Okay, it is going to be a good day.  Minutes after the van should be here, it is not.  I call.  The driver is on his way.  More minutes go by.  Finally, it is here and Jim is being loaded into the van.  My cell phone rings and I look at the number – my heart sinks.  It’s the doctor’s office.  “Erica, where are you?”  the nurse asks.  “We are 4 minutes out – max.  The van is just here to pick us up.”  I plead with her to let us come.  A kind person, she puts me on hold to see if the doctor can still squeeze in Jim.  He can’t.  I guess the good news is that I didn’t have to pay for the trip.  So, we unload Jim and frustration abounds.

I’m trying to get over it.  I am.  But, the only time Jim can be squeezed in before the doctor is off for training and conferences is Saturday morning.  Of course we take the appointment.  But, it’s the same time as my son’s soccer game.  I had to miss the game last week.  He had to miss practice on Monday (because I was the nurse that day).  I am just so tired of shuffling things and asking friends for favors.  But I do ask, because frankly I have no other choice.  I am blessed that my friends are so nice. 

So I’m trying to get over it.  I decided a venti skim chi latte from Starbucks will help.  It does a little.  As I drive back from Starbucks, I really do try all the things I know that have helped me in the past.  Nothing is working.  I am frustrated and tired of everything being dictated to me.

But then it happens.  I return home and see it.  My sick son is resting on the chair watching television and my husband is sitting next to him in his wheelchair.  Not ideal for either one of these people.  My son doesn’t feel well and Jim is out of his comfort room and chair.  Still, what a nice sight.  The two most important men in my life hanging out, bonding in a way that so many of us take for granted.  I smile and am happy for the occasion.

Maybe the tides are turning.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Elizabeth on September 19, 2012 at 2:05 pm

    Erica,
    I still don’t know how you do it! I mean to say this over and over to you, and now seems like a good day. After the last few months at my house I have a whole new appreciation for you and all you do. Thank You, Thank You, Thank You!!! I think you must be Wonder Woman 🙂 Wish I could help you more! Wouldn’t mind having Uncle Jim as my patient for the day. Hope everyone is feeling a little better in so many ways very soon.

    love ya’ll,
    Elizabeth

    Reply

    • Thanks Elizabeth – this is a nice comment to get. I appreciate it. I know you guys are struggling too – sorry we are not closer to one another – a trip to Starbucks together could be a good thing 🙂

      Reply

  2. Posted by Amy KW on September 19, 2012 at 10:18 pm

    Hey Erica,

    I’m close enough to BRING you Starbucks — but still an hour away, and of course issues with scheduling my own life and sons interfere w/where I’d LIKE to be. You put my life in perspective everyday though as I read this. I continue to pray for yours (moreso than mine sometimes!) and look forward to working out the coffee “break”…

    Love and hugs to all,
    Amy
    (who tried to make my own picture on the “Gravatar”, but get this funny star instead!) 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

