And If that Mockingbird Don’t Sing….What Does it Mean??

This morning after dropping my daughter at pre-school I decided to take my own advice and “be still” for a moment. I went to Starbucks, got my standard and headed outside to sit and drink my tea in the shade. My sadness consumed me and I fought back the tears that were bound to come. There were all sorts of people around me, meeting colleagues, shaking hands, smiling, talking, texting, and the idea of a woman having a crying fit in the middle of it all didn’t seem like a good idea. So I sat, looked around, tried to remember happier times when my dying husband was well. He would have been among the shaking hands, smiling crowd. I was trying to remember.

Then my concentration was broken by the loud squawking of mockingbirds in flight. I looked up to see a not unfamiliar scene. Two mockingbirds, I am assuming a mother and father, chasing after a much larger blackbird, who was likely after some eggs or young. The parents were ruthless, flying and darting after the larger bird. They would quickly fly, peck at, and then return to their original perch spot. And all the while, they were calling something fierce.

mockingbird

I smiled now and looked around again at all the faces and people. Not one of them noticed. Not one of them looked to the sky for the tenacious display of the mockingbirds. I watched for many more minutes. The scene remained the same and I was struck by how much energy both species of birds were exerting. I was struck by the fact that not one of them was ready to give up the fight. I was struck by how similar my husband was to the mockingbirds. Jim has darted, struck at and fought away the enemy. He has persevered even when his energy has been depleted. Just as I was amazed by the birds in flight, so many have been amazed by my husband’s fight (that includes me too).

After more minutes of considering the skies, I decided that I was going to “google” mockingbirds as an animal totem. I have never considered them  to be in my path for a reason, but today I knew the fact that only I seemed to be paying attention to them at this specific moment meant something.

My google search revealed some interesting insight. Mockingbirds are signs of overcoming fear. Mockingbirds are symbols for finding your inner strength and song. Mockingbirds are supposed to help you heal on the inside by gaining knowledge on the outside. It is said that mockingbirds teach us to be flexible – to go with the flow.

Those mockingbirds were a gift to remind me that although things are changing, there is no fear. When I realized this, I looked to the skies again. The birds were silenced; they were nowhere in sight. I sat minutes longer waiting to see if they would return. I threw my now empty tea cup away and finding my inner strength rose from the bench to face the uncertainty of the day – without fear.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Great post, Erica. We have mockingbirds nesting in our yard. They are fearless; they’ll do anything to protect their nest. we’ve had to warn people not to walk near trees where they were nesting because they’ll come after you. Thanks to your insights, I now have a different view of them.

    Reply

    • It doesn’t surprise me one bit that you have mockingbirds surrounding you. Makes me smile on this end of the computer. Mockingbirds suite you. 🙂

      Reply

  2. Posted by Peggy on May 14, 2014 at 4:02 pm

    Great one — I am going to go now and sit outside and look up. I will be thinking of you and Jim the whole time. xoxox
    Peggy

    Reply

  3. Posted by Bobby Cook on May 14, 2014 at 7:02 pm

    I often tell myself that there are no coincidences but instead I just need to quiten my mind for the meaning behind them. Clearly you were meant to receive the message at that very moment.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

