Words and Remembering Can Be Wonderful Gifts

An old friend, a new friend, a friend across the miles I have never personally met, my mom, and a neighbor.  All these different parts came together this morning – all remembering.  All making me aware that there are people who surround us who support, who love, who honor.  Today is the day Jim died three years ago.  In some ways, it feels like a few months ago and in other ways, of course, so much has changed.  All I have to do to remember that one is look at how much our two children have grown and changed over the past several years.  But to think that people, some of whom I know only distantly, would remember this day and would think to honor Jim by remembering him – well that frankly is such a surprising blessing. 

Last night I was watching a television show that related to my winding and wondering thoughts on this anniversary day.  The show had a scene in it where a teenager died while texting and driving.  The grieving parents were sitting with the main character of the show and a pastor.  They were both recalling the need to try to make something beautiful out of things that don’t make sense, that are horrible and sad.  As so today, I realize the beautiful that comes from Jim in the children we had together – Jim’s son is a sweet, pensive, and athletic boy (just like his daddy); Jim’s daughter is a spitfire who likes to charm a room and knows what she wants (just like her daddy).  I also realize the beautiful that comes from Jim’s far to early departure from this world – that love is still here and friends and family will always be touched by Jim and I by their love back. 

The “why” Jim left so soon and “how” he could have been taken from his kids too early in life cannot be explained now, but for now I remember Jim and his kindness, his smile and laughter, his generosity, his perseverance, his perfectionism, and his love for his family and friends.  And I can find peace knowing he is hanging out with the coolest person who has ever lived on this planet (as the kids and I say) – Jesus. 

IMG_2078

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Melinda Corbin on June 27, 2017 at 2:21 pm

    Always wishing you and your family the best. Jim passed away the day before my birthday….I do remember. Your children are remarkable! I know you’re so proud….Jim would be too 🙂 Continued blessings to you all. Here’s to exceptional forever memories!!

    Reply

    • Thank you so much – I know Jim thought so highly of you and obviously for very good reasons. Thank you for remembering him and us!

      Reply

  2. Posted by Anne Slye Anderson on June 27, 2017 at 3:29 pm

    I attended grades 7 through 10 with Jim. Those were difficult years in my life. I was not a part of the popular crowd. Many snubbed their noses at me, but not your sweet Jim! He was forever kind, gracious, and friendly. His smile was infectious. I will always remember him.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Mary Busch on June 27, 2017 at 3:46 pm

    What a lovely . . . beautiful . . . post Erica. And what a BEAUTIFUL children Jim has blessed you with. “Three years”. It doesn’t seem possible. I think about you so often and love to see your pretty face and those of Braxton and Annalise. God bless.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Angela Russell on June 28, 2017 at 1:03 am

    Erica, I do think of you and Jim every time I walk past your house as I am walking my dog. I think of how kind you two were when I met you for the first time and every time since then. I know we don’t always understand the “why’s” but you seem to have that something that a lot of people don’t have to get them through this kind of tragedy. That something is your faith. I think you are an amazing person to have come through this and raising your children the way you have. Jim was right when he said that he wanted you and his family to stay in this neighborhood. You may have taken it as if it was for you because of the people that live here…..I am not too sure it wasn’t for all of us because YOU live here. Thanks for being such a wonderful person and neighbor.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

